MPA Annual Awards

Nominations are now open for 2022 Annual Awards!!

One of the duties and privileges of a professional association is to recognize excellence within the profession. The Montana Pharmacy Association does this each year at the winter conference by presenting professional awards of excellence.   Nominate an extraordinary Pharmacists and Technician today. Awards to be presented at the 2022 MPA Winter Virtual CE Conference, at 3 pm, January 7th, which include Distinguished Young Pharmacist, Excellence in Innovation, Fitzgerald Pharmacist of the Year, Pharmacy Technician of the Year, Bowl of Hygeia and new this year, Fellow of MPA award (see info below for this award). Click here to nominate onlineClick here for PDF to fill in and email/mail.

New MPA Fellow Designation Program – Apply to highlight your professional achievements!

Dear MPA Member,

We are pleased to announce the new, “Montana Pharmacy Association (MPA) Fellow Designation Program.”   This program will allow members to nominate their colleagues or themselves to apply and receive recognition for their professional achievements and dedication to the practice of pharmacy.

This new initiative has been endorsed by the MPA Board to recognize and reward pharmacist members who have demonstrated excellence in helping people achieve optimal health outcomes and advance the practice of pharmacy.  Successful candidates for the Fellow of MPA (FMPA) will have made sustained contributions to MPA in addition to demonstrating a high level of excellence in the pharmacy profession.

Applicants who qualify as a FMPA will receive recognition at the MPA Annual Awards Ceremony, special coverage in the MPA Newsletter, an exclusive label pin, a certificate, and an announcement of your achievement to local press outlets in your practice area.

To learn more about how you can apply please go to: 2022 Fellow of MPA Application and checkout the complete Fellow of MPA Application form which describes the process and points needed to earn the fellowship designation. Or click here for a downloadable PDF to print and mail or email back to MPA. Thank you!

 We Honor Our 2021 MPA Award Recipients

Click here to view a full listing of all past award recipients.

Bowl of Hygeia
Mike Bertagnolli, BS Pharm, with Bozeman Health in Bozeman

Mike is the System Manager of Pharmacy Services for Bozeman Health. Mike has been a practicing pharmacist for almost 30 years. Mike completed 10 years on MT Board of Pharmacy. While on the board he also served as secretary/treasurer and original incorporating member of NABP District 7. Mike is also a member and past president of the MPA. He chaired the Board in 2000-2001 when MPA led efforts to successfully pass collaborative practice legislation through the MT legislature. He is active in ASHP and ACHE and is a Board member of MT chapter of ACHE.


Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year
Ian McGrane, an Assistant Professor at the Skaggs School of Pharmacy at the University of Montana and a consultant psychiatric pharmacist at Providence St. Patrick Hospital in Missoula

Professor McGrane has developed a record of steady effort with publication, presentations, and maintaining board certification. Professor McGrane attended state, regional and national professional meetings and maintained membership in four general and specialty pharmacy organizations. He served multiple years as a peer reviewer for manuscripts submitted to national journals, abstracts submitted for national meetings, grant submissions for mental health programs, and junior investigator  awards. He is currently a board member on Montana Medicaid Drug Utilization Review and Montana Mental Health Trust. He provided professional consultation for a regional health system and served as an expert witness in three legal cases. 

Excellence in Innovation
JoEllen Maurer, BS Pharm, Pharmacy Clinical Manager with St Vincent Healthcare in Billings and is also vice-chair of MPA

JoEllen was voted for this award based on her phenomenal leadership and creative thinking during the implementation of St V’s COVID-19 Vaccination process. Back in October of 2020 there was a request from their leadership to JoEllen asking her to lead the efforts to stand up a vaccine clinic on-site at SVH. In her usual way, JoEllen took on the challenge with confidence. JoEllen was key in success of the development, operationalization and implementation of the SVH vaccine clinic process. Today SVH has vaccinated several thousand individuals in the Billings community and provided a great service to help fight the pandemic in our state. Without this clinic and the efficiency of the workflow there would be far fewer individuals that had the opportunity to receive the vaccine. 

Fitzgerald Pharmacist of the Year
Logan Tinsen, PharmD, is the Pharmacy Clinical Coordinator and Residency Program Director at Benefis in Great Falls and is Chair of MPA and HSA

Logan has done substantial work on the front of advocacy for our profession both within the state and nationally. He carries formal roles within our state (MPA). He has used this platform to advocate for residency programs in the state as it relates to CMS reimbursement issues. Also, most recently Logan took things national with helping find a solution to getting residents licensed in the state as COVID had put a wrench in testing site availability. He helped coordinate a solution with the school of pharmacy. Logan is always willing to step up and help wherever he can.

Pharmacy Technician of the Year
Jacilyn Dahms, CPhT, with Bozeman CHP Pharmacy in Bozeman

Jaci is currently the only Tech at CHP Pharmacy and has many roles. Jaci works to get patients their medications they would not otherwise be able to afford. She does this by running the CHP medication assistance program and submits applications to drug manufacturers for patients. She also manages the ordering and inventory for 5 different Community Health Partner clinics, working closely with medical staff to ensure their needs are met. In addition to ordering their medications, she also keeps them supplied with vaccines. She helped with the pharmacy's initial set up and has been very active in updating and writing new pharmacy policy. She has continually worked at the top of her license and also looks to expand beyond that. She advocated for the use of pharmacy technicians to help immunize patients. She has also helped write policy and update our Tech Utilization Plan for remote pharmacy technician work during COVID19 pandemic. She is crucial to the management of our 340B inventory and program.